NinjaTrader Support Forum  

Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > Application Technical Support > Charting

Charting Support for NinjaTrader Advanced Charting.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2011, 10:17 AM   #1
svrz
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: , ,
Posts: 83
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 times in 2 posts
Default IB: Incorrect realtime volume bars created by NT

NT Version: 7.0.1000.7
TWS Version: 918.9b

For the past two days, I have noticed highly unusual volume bars for the instrument 6E 12-11 on NT created 5 minute charts in which IB is the data provider. When all historical data are reloaded, the problem is resolved. My initial thoughts were that this is a problem with IB. However when I compared the volume data for this instrument between a TWS realtime chart and one created by NT, the TWS realtime chart plots the correct volume at all times. For some reason the NT created volume bars, at times, are highly erroneous and the error is invariably on the high side.

Here are two images to illustrate the problem. This is a TWS created realtime chart:

http://tinypic.com/r/nguis6/5

and here is the equivalent chart created by NT:

http://tinypic.com/r/2z4ei4o/5

The volume bar on 14:20 CST (3rd from the left) on the TWS chart is a volume bar that is below 2500 contracts. However the NT created chart for the same bar (13:20 MST - 2nd fromt he left), shows the volume to be in excess of 5000 contracts. As I stated previously, a historical data refresh corrects this problem. However it appears that somehow NT is incorrectly calculating the realtime volume.

I understand that the most recent NT supported TWS version is 917 and what I have is 918. I was forced to upgrade to this version due to instability issues that I experienced with 917.

I have been using this version for quite a while and I noticed the first occurrence of this problem only yesterday.

Please advise.

Thanks in advance.
Last edited by svrz; 12-14-2011 at 10:24 AM.
svrz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 10:51 AM   #2
NinjaTrader_AdamP
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_AdamP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 2,895
Thanks: 241
Thanked 376 times in 366 posts
Default

svrz,

One thing I noticed is you are looking at an expired contract. Is this intentional?

It is possible to have real-time spiking of volume. Reloading historical data will repopulate in historical data from IB to make it correct again. This is a limitation of TWS API.

Please see the following link for more information.

http://www.ninjatrader.com/support/f...t=25700&page=6

Please let me know if I may assist further.
NinjaTrader_AdamP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 11:37 AM   #3
svrz
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: , ,
Posts: 83
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 times in 2 posts
Default

Hi Adam

Thanks for the prompt reply. According to IB, the December 6E contract expires on December 19, 2011. Please see:

http://tinypic.com/r/2laejbo/5

Currently, the 6E March contract, compared to December, has much lower trading volume. So most traders have not switched as of yet.

>It is possible to have real-time spiking of volume. Reloading historical data will repopulate in historical >data from IB to make it correct again. This is a limitation of TWS API.Please see the following link for >more information.

>http://www.ninjatrader.com/support/f...t=25700&page=6

Thanks for this but I'm not sure how it is related to this problem. It seems that the poster was experiencing volume spikes during NT initialization. The problem that I'm seeing is relatively new to me which is random and erroneous volume spikes that can occur at any time after the NT initialization phase.

As I stated in my original message, the TWS realtime chart shows the correct volume at all times. I think TWS uses the same technique in reconstructing its volume bars as NT, which is to aggregate all trade sizes obtained from T&S for a desired duration (1 min, 5 min, etc.). The questions are:

1) Is NT somehow receiving bad realtime T&S data?

2) If so, why?

3) Again, if so, why doesn't TWS suffer from the same problem?

4) Adam, you mentioned the TWS API having limitations. Being somewhat familiar with the APIs and receiving all the TWS developer messages from the Yahoo TWS API support group daily. I don't recall reading anything about any major T&S issues or limitations. Can you kindly be more specific?

Thanks again and take care.
svrz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 12:03 PM   #4
NinjaTrader_AdamP
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_AdamP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 2,895
Thanks: 241
Thanked 376 times in 366 posts
Default

svrz,

Quote:
1) Is NT somehow receiving bad realtime T&S data?

2) If so, why?

3) Again, if so, why doesn't TWS suffer from the same problem?

4) Adam, you mentioned the TWS API having limitations. Being somewhat familiar with the APIs and receiving all the TWS developer messages from the Yahoo TWS API support group daily. I don't recall reading anything about any major T&S issues or limitations. Can you kindly be more specific?
1) We are receiving data IB sends us through their API. The volume spikes are a known issue and we are awaiting development on IB's side to correct the issue.

2) Unfortunately, I can't comment on why its occurring other than to say that development is aware of the issue after extensive testing, and they have concluded its not something we currently have any control over. However, development has communicated this with IB and they are working together on a resolution.

3) Only applications connected through the TWS API have been shown to run into this current limitation.

4) Please see 2), apologies for any inconvenience.

Please let us know if you require any additional assistance.
NinjaTrader_AdamP is offline  
Reply With Quote
The following user says thank you to NinjaTrader_AdamP for this post:
Old 12-14-2011, 12:18 PM   #5
svrz
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: , ,
Posts: 83
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 times in 2 posts
Default

Greetings Adam

I greatly appreciate you promptly answering my questions in detail.

>1) The volume spikes are a known issue and we are awaiting development on IB's side to correct the >issue.

>2) However, development has communicated this with IB and they are working together on a resolution.

>3) Only applications connected through the TWS API have been shown to run into this current >limitation.

Fair enough and points well taken. I will wait for a final resolution to this issue. Please follow up with IB as many times as possible. Furthermore if there is anything we the IB clients can do, please let us know.

Thanks again and take care.
svrz is offline  
Reply With Quote
The following user says thank you to svrz for this post:
Reply

Tags
incorrect data, tws, volume

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DTN IQ, IB and NT - incorrect data Day Trading Fool Version 7 Beta General Questions & Bug Reports 3 11-30-2010 03:03 PM
NT7B16 Bug: Time axis is incorrect when using volume bars in multiple panels goWms Version 7 Beta General Questions & Bug Reports 4 06-28-2010 07:17 AM
Volume bars for FX Futures from IB Scooter1 Charting 1 05-04-2010 05:41 AM
IB volume bars PepeIlegal Historical NinjaTrader 6.5 Beta Threads 7 03-27-2008 04:27 PM
IB Historical Volume Bars jojab Charting 1 02-14-2008 09:13 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:15 AM.