Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > NinjaScript Development Support > Strategy Development

Strategy Development Support for the development of custom automated trading strategies using NinjaScript.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2011, 02:23 AM   #1
ssg10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 times in 1 post
Default 3-line break in strategy

I found out if I used 3-line break chart in my strategy analyzer for my trend-following strategy, it generates 3x better profit factor than using candlestick.

But, the question is.... is it realistic to use 3-line break in strategy analyzer of strategy itself? What's the caveat?
ssg10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 07:14 AM   #2
NinjaTrader_Brett
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Brett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 6,568
Thanks: 111
Thanked 314 times in 299 posts
Default

Hello,

Thanks for the forum post.

Only thing to be aware of is how line break charts form in realtime vs historical. To get a line break chart that will look exactly like it would in live you would need to run it with a 1 tick input series to have the granularity needed to get a full line break chart.

-Brett
NinjaTrader_Brett is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 02:19 PM   #3
ssg10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 times in 1 post
Default

What do you mean by 1-tick input series? Could you elaborate?
ssg10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 02:38 PM   #4
NinjaTrader_Brett
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Brett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 6,568
Thanks: 111
Thanked 314 times in 299 posts
Default

Sure, when you create the line break chart you specify what you want to build the chart from. You want to set the settings for Base period type and base period value.

Let me know if I can be of further assistance.
NinjaTrader_Brett is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 02:54 AM   #5
ssg10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 times in 1 post
Default

Thanks Brett

I am still a bit confused.

If my strategy is tested with 'Base period type = minute' and 'Base period value = 2', then the chart will looks different from running it with type=tick and value=1

1-tick will generate longer chart and it may not what my strategy is supposed to run on, right?

Please clarify... thanks
ssg10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 02:51 PM   #6
NinjaTrader_Austin
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Austin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 3,149
Thanks: 10
Thanked 92 times in 82 posts
Default

ssg10, if you use 2 minute series to build the three line break bars, the TLB bars would only be built using the closes of the 2 minute series. Brett is saying if you want the most accurate TLB bars, you have to use a 1 tick series because then every tick would be used to build the bars instead of a "tick" every two minutes.
NinjaTrader_Austin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 02:15 PM   #7
ssg10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 times in 1 post
Default

Thanks for the great support!

I played with the settings and tried to understand how the 3-linebreak is constructed -- now I understood that 3LB is probably not very realistic for strategy dev.

The 3LB 'candle' won't finalize and be formed until it takes out the past 'value' bars' high or low. The current candle can drop until X-points without candle being formed (unless it takes out the past 'value' bars). This causes problems with my fixed stop getting stopped-out many times during simulation on tick-replay. It didn't get stopped out in strategy analyzer, but it got a lot of stop-outs in real tick-replay playback.
ssg10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 Line Break dj22522 NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion 1 02-12-2011 12:14 PM
NT7: Three Line Break, how to? tradinghumble Version 7 Beta General Questions & Bug Reports 20 11-18-2009 01:25 PM
3 line break brendo General Programming 11 03-26-2009 06:40 AM
Pivot line shifts at day break, not session break?? billy822 Charting 4 03-23-2009 10:19 AM
Three Line Break samiam30 Indicator Development 0 11-22-2007 11:30 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:09 PM.

FULL RISK DISCLOSURE: Futures trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.