Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > Application Technical Support > Miscellaneous Support

Miscellaneous Support Miscellaneous support issues.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2011, 06:10 AM   #1
cgeorgan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 334
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default Backup Restoration Failure(s)

Hi guys-

I do a full backup of my NinjaTrader files every week. Yesterday, I had a problem that required me to erase my entire NT directory (both under program files, and My Documents) and start from scratch. I did so with the confidence that I'd be able to restore my work (months of it).

My first restore took a while - about 3 hours (it's 8.5 GB) - and, at the exact moment of completion, I got a dreaded error.

"Ninjatrader was unable to restore the selected backup archive file: The specified module could not be found. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8007007E).

No worries, I'll just go to the next backup and restore that one (from last week).

Same result.

I'm going to try backup number three now, but what do you think the chances are that I get a third error? These backups were never moved around - always made to the NT Backup directory.

Advice?

My backups were made using NT version 7.0.1000.2 (Previous), and I was attempting to restore to the upgraded 7.0.1000.4 (Current)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Error.JPG (67.8 KB, 8 views)
Last edited by cgeorgan; 05-04-2011 at 06:14 AM.
cgeorgan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 06:32 AM   #2
NinjaTrader_Chip
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Chip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Hello

Thank you for your post.

It is not clear from this error message the source of the issue.

So that we can see what might be taking place in the background, please send us your log & trace files for NinjaTrader 7 version 4.

You can find these in your (My) Documents folder in the folders:
1. NinjaTrader 7 > Trace > trace.YYYYMMDD.txt
2. NinjaTrader 7 > Log > log.YYYYMMDD.txt

Attach these text (.txt) files to your email and send this to support AT ninjatrader DOT com

Make sure to include a reference to this forum thread.
NinjaTrader_Chip is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 06:32 AM   #3
cgeorgan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 334
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default Quick Update

It appears as if all the chart data and historical data has actually been restored.

The trade database has been restored as well.

No workspaces, custom indicators or strategies remain, however.
cgeorgan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 06:40 AM   #4
NinjaTrader_Chip
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Chip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Hello

Without the diagnostic files, I am inclined to believe this is a compatibility issue between version 2 & version 4

From the NinjaTrader 7 Installation Guide: “If you have previously installed a 3rd party commercial indicator or strategy via a vendor provided installer program please uninstall these components via the vendor provided uninstaller or the Windows Control Panel "Uninstall or change a program" (might be named Add/Remove Programs)”

Therefore not all NinjaScript items will be portable over to NinjaTrader 7 version 4 (from version 2).
NinjaTrader_Chip is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 10:30 AM   #5
cgeorgan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 334
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NinjaTrader_Chip View Post
Hello

Without the diagnostic files, I am inclined to believe this is a compatibility issue between version 2 & version 4

From the NinjaTrader 7 Installation Guide: “If you have previously installed a 3rd party commercial indicator or strategy via a vendor provided installer program please uninstall these components via the vendor provided uninstaller or the Windows Control Panel "Uninstall or change a program" (might be named Add/Remove Programs)”

Therefore not all NinjaScript items will be portable over to NinjaTrader 7 version 4 (from version 2).
Hey Chip-

I looked through the log files myself, and there wasn't anything written from the installation. There was a hint from my attempt to restore only my most recent database backup (made 5/3), which gave me this error for all of my strategies:

Code:
5/4/2011 8:36:43 AM|3|4|Unable to restore strategy 'NinjaTrader.Strategy.CRGMomentumSystemFixed' with ID '22e6069f79f143ee84291d53184344c7'. Most likely this strategy no longer is supported by the custom assemblies.
This is strange - I don't use any 3rd party commercial indicators...all stuff created in NT7 (from back when you guys were still putting the beta out).

Now, here's the strange thing. Once I learned that a lot more of the backup was restored than not, I tried again. Same error I listed above, except this time I flat-out copied my custom strategies and indicators directly into folders before restoring the backup. This time, same error message, but my strategies re-appeared. I then restored the same DB file that gave me the above error, and was then able to recover all previous strategies.

So, in the end I'm a little dumbfounded. I restored everything just fine, albeit with a lot of headaches, time spent and an error message everytime. I'm not sure what else to suggest to you guys to help me help myself - any ideas?
cgeorgan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 06:13 PM   #6
NinjaTrader_Brett
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Brett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 6,576
Thanks: 111
Thanked 319 times in 304 posts
Default

Hello,

If your up and going then you should be good to go if I understand you correctly.

However if you want to test this further here what I suggest if you are able.

Do a fresh backup of your current setup. Then use another PC and restore this backup. Does it now restore correctly?

I just did a test on my PC and I did not run into any issues.

Let me know if I can be of further assistance.
NinjaTrader_Brett is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATM Failure -- happens often Turtle Trader ATM Strategies (Discretionary Trading) 5 01-18-2011 01:58 PM
Installation Failure tradetree Version 7 Beta General Questions & Bug Reports 7 09-24-2010 05:00 AM
Backup Database Failure cipher4d Miscellaneous Support 0 02-16-2010 07:37 PM
Consistent failure hemlock Version 7 Beta General Questions & Bug Reports 10 10-22-2009 04:17 PM
Backup instrument manager and other backup issues WhoKnows Suggestions And Feedback 1 12-11-2008 03:57 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:35 PM.

FULL RISK DISCLOSURE: Futures trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.