Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > Application Technical Support > Strategy Analyzer

Strategy Analyzer Support for automated system backtesting and optimization using the NinjaTrader Strategy Analyzer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2010, 05:28 PM   #1
Lost Trader
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 368
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 times in 2 posts
Default Backtest running wrong strategy

I have two custom strategies, each with print statements. Using the Strategy Analyzer on the ES, I changed the pull-down to the 2nd strategy. However, when I run it, the output window shows messages from the other strategy which is NOT being run. And not the print statements from the one supposedly being back-tested.

BTW, this is NT 6.5.1000.14
Lost Trader is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 10:14 PM   #2
NinjaTrader_Ben
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Ben's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 3,157
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 times in 3 posts
Default

Hello,

Check your print statements, indicator names and retest it. What you describe is impossible if the print statements and indicator names are all uniform and coded properly.

You may want to post the two files and tell us how to reproduce it.
NinjaTrader_Ben is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 03:52 PM   #3
Lost Trader
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 368
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 times in 2 posts
Default

I agree it should be impossible. The only way to stop it was to pull the old strategy out of the "My Documents\NinjaTrader 6.5\bin\Custom\Strategy" folder.

Just to be sure, I shutdown NT & brought it back up then recompiled my strategy. So apparently no problem now with it running the wrong strategy now.

I have noticed that some parameter settings are kept when I change the strategy via the pull-down, like Min Bars Required. I was surprised you would do that.
Lost Trader is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 04:57 PM   #4
NinjaTrader_Josh
NinjaTrader Product Manager
 
NinjaTrader_Josh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 17,460
Thanks: 1
Thanked 171 times in 82 posts
Default

Lost Trader,

Yes, as you switch strategies the settings carry over.
NinjaTrader_Josh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference between strategy running on grid vs running on a chart richa61416 Version 7 Beta General Questions & Bug Reports 6 02-26-2010 12:37 PM
Optimize/Backtest Runs Wrong Strategy KrisS Strategy Development 5 07-28-2009 06:55 AM
Can you please look at this strategy and see what is wrong? paco99 Strategy Development 12 08-04-2008 11:10 AM
Problem when running a backtest Turc1656 Strategy Analyzer 3 03-17-2008 03:12 PM
Beta bug? Strategy Analyzer backtest properties window showing wrong properties OregonSun Historical NinjaTrader 6.5 Beta Threads 2 01-27-2008 06:42 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:50 AM.

FULL RISK DISCLOSURE: Futures trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.