Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > Application Technical Support > Miscellaneous Support

Miscellaneous Support Miscellaneous support issues.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2009, 04:43 PM   #1
juice
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default Windows 7 64 bit and Ninja Trader

I recently switched brokers from IB to AMP.

Since this switch Ninja Trader has been acting VERY buggy.

Crashes multiple times and even caused my first Windows 7 blue screen of death. I did clean installs multiple times and this didn't help.

For some reason I had no problems with NT and IB connection. When I talked with Ninja support they said there is no support for Windows 7 and even when Ninja Trader version 7 comes out there will be no support until some "future" date. This is scary based on the number of postponements version 7 has had.

Since Vista is essentially an unusable OS and Windows 7 is nearly flawless that means Ninja Trader only supports an 8 year old operating system. This seems pretty unacceptable. Hopefully they will understand the urgency in bringing there software in compliance with the current decade standards.
juice is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 05:20 AM   #2
NinjaTrader_Vince
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,566
Thanks: 55
Thanked 77 times in 74 posts
Default

Hi,

NT 6.5 doesn't support the 64-bit OS. However, it will be supported in V7 which is currently in Beta. See here for all new features and a status update:
http://www.ninjatrader.com/webnew/NT7/NinjaTrader7.html


For our official comments on Windows 7, please see here:
http://www.ninjatrader-support2.com/...ad.php?t=22464
NinjaTrader_Vince is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 08:19 AM   #3
juice
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

This is good news. I was basically told sorry, no support, try back later!!!

How can I download NT 7 beta?
juice is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 08:56 AM   #4
NinjaTrader_Vince
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,566
Thanks: 55
Thanked 77 times in 74 posts
Default

Hi,

V7 is currently only available to a select group of testers.

Check frequently for the link with V7 updates for the current status.
NinjaTrader_Vince is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 09:11 AM   #5
juice
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Hmmmm, would you not be curious to see how version 7 plays with Windows 7?

In other words can I be a part of the "select" testers?
juice is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 09:50 AM   #6
NinjaTrader_Vince
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,566
Thanks: 55
Thanked 77 times in 74 posts
Default

Unfortunately the list is closed at this time.

You have to keep an eye out on the link I mentioned earlier for all development.
NinjaTrader_Vince is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 03:59 PM   #7
juice
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NinjaTrader_Vincent View Post
Unfortunately the list is closed at this time.

You have to keep an eye out on the link I mentioned earlier for all development.

Ok. "The list is closed" comment was cute at first but now it's cost me money. NT 6.5 is NOT compatible with Windows 7.

Please send me access to the beta or give me the owners number so I can speak to him directly.

This is unacceptable. I'm sure the many traders I work with and chat with on message boards would be surprised to hear about how NT treats its costumers.
juice is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 04:14 PM   #8
NinjaTrader_John
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Hello Juice:

NinjaTrader has a controlled process in the release of beta software. This insures we can effectively and efficently resolve items throughout the beta process.

We will start a new round of beta testing shortly and I can likely have the last release sent to you as well. Please email salesatninjatraderdotcom with your request and include "for John" in the subject.

Please be aware that we do not recommend using NT7 beta for live trading. If you trade live with NT7 beta it is at your own risk. We also ask that you do not distribute the download link as we need to maintain a known and controlled beta user group.

Sincerely,

John
NinjaTrader_John is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 05:47 PM   #9
roonius
Certified NinjaScript Consultant
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 times in 7 posts
Send a message via Skype™ to roonius
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juice View Post
Ok. "The list is closed" comment was cute at first but now it's cost me money. NT 6.5 is NOT compatible with Windows 7.

Please send me access to the beta or give me the owners number so I can speak to him directly.

This is unacceptable. I'm sure the many traders I work with and chat with on message boards would be surprised to hear about how NT treats its costumers.
NT 6.5 works perfectly under Windows 7 both 32 and 64 bit
roonius is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 06:30 PM   #10
juice
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roonius View Post
NT 6.5 works perfectly under Windows 7 both 32 and 64 bit
Making a definitive comment like that is foolish.

If you have tested NT 6.5 with all available brokers and data feeds before you made that comment then I apologize for calling you foolish.

NT 6.5 worked fine with IB. Since I switched to Amp it has been crashing anytime I change any options.
juice is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 06:41 PM   #11
roonius
Certified NinjaScript Consultant
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 times in 7 posts
Send a message via Skype™ to roonius
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juice View Post
Making a definitive comment like that is foolish.

If you have tested NT 6.5 with all available brokers and data feeds before you made that comment then I apologize for calling you foolish.

NT 6.5 worked fine with IB. Since I switched to Amp it has been crashing anytime I change any options.
My broker is AMP - never had a problem...
roonius is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 08:21 AM   #12
juice
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NinjaTrader_John View Post
Hello Juice:

NinjaTrader has a controlled process in the release of beta software. This insures we can effectively and efficently resolve items throughout the beta process.

We will start a new round of beta testing shortly and I can likely have the last release sent to you as well. Please email salesatninjatraderdotcom with your request and include "for John" in the subject.

Please be aware that we do not recommend using NT7 beta for live trading. If you trade live with NT7 beta it is at your own risk. We also ask that you do not distribute the download link as we need to maintain a known and controlled beta user group.

Sincerely,

John
Hi John,

I still haven't received an response from the e-mail I sent.
juice is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 08:41 AM   #13
NinjaTrader_Vince
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,566
Thanks: 55
Thanked 77 times in 74 posts
Default

Alex,

We've revceived your email and will send out the email with NT 7 Beta details to you this morning.
NinjaTrader_Vince is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 08:43 AM   #14
juice
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NinjaTrader_Vincent View Post
Alex,

We've revceived your email and will send out the email with NT 7 Beta details to you this morning.
Thank you!!!!
juice is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 03:44 PM   #15
juice
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

When I try to connect to Zen Fire I get a message saying that Zen Fire does not support 64 bit version!!!
juice is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ninja Trader 6.5 at Vista 64 bit time bar Problem Weasley Miscellaneous Support 9 11-13-2009 03:55 AM
NinjaScript: 32-bit vs 64-bit Distribution NinjaTrader_Ray Critical Information - Please review 0 10-08-2009 10:10 AM
Ninja on XP 64 Bit Roguefishr Miscellaneous Support 8 07-29-2009 10:02 PM
Ninja 7 : XP-64 bit vs Vista 64 bit commodity_trader Miscellaneous Support 18 12-24-2008 10:14 AM
Will Ninja Trader run on Vista 64 bit? tfrost Miscellaneous Support 2 12-21-2008 05:16 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:40 AM.

FULL RISK DISCLOSURE: Futures trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.