Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > Application Technical Support > Connecting

Connecting Support for establishing connections to your broker or market data service provider.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2009, 05:59 AM   #1
Mindset
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: UK West Sussex
Posts: 692
Thanks: 18
Thanked 19 times in 14 posts
Default Freezing & Crashing with IB

I have used NT as a licence holder for over a year now with IB.

My workspaces crash every week sometimes every day and do not reload.
eg yesterday and today ( and the US isn't even open!)
After ranting and raving, throwing computers out of windows , etc I thought I would try and get to the bottom of this.

There may be some issues with NT and their historical data requests BUT I feel the major issue lies with IB and it's throttling/traffic management, etc.

If I can restart NT unconnected and close my 'normal' workspace it will happily open 4-5 charts very quickly.
If I go back to my normal workspace - the dreaded 'Saving' / 'Loading Data' box appears and that is that in my experience. So I reason that it can only be the workspace keeps getting corrupted or IB are somehow strangling the data requests and NT have no way of aborting the download ( clicking abort in my experience just aggravates the problem and usually ends up with ctrl+alt+del).

I can't see that this amount of corruption is possible ( I have reinstalled a few times) in normal use - other users would complain and NT would not be in business so using Occam's razor I am left with IB.

Unless someone can point me toward something else.

My normal workspace has 24 charts (8 symbols) and 1 market analyzer using a max of 20 days back. Doesn't seem arduous.

I would appreciate other users comments - esp those using IB.

I pray that v7 corrects some of this ( esp the abort, loading data freeze issue) - if it doesn't then I will have to find another data provider.
Mindset is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 10:29 AM   #2
cctrade
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Same exact problem here for the last 6 months. IF you get an answer let me know. I only pull up 1 1-minute chart of the zb. I don't think it is IB problems I believe it is NT. I have over 100 nt db's created because every time I log out I need to start all over again from scratch.
cctrade is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 10:40 AM   #3
NinjaTrader_Jason
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Breda, Netherlands
Posts: 12,781
Thanks: 146
Thanked 582 times in 566 posts
Default

Hello cctrade,

Please see my response to your forum post.
NinjaTrader_Jason is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 01:23 AM   #4
Mindset
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: UK West Sussex
Posts: 692
Thanks: 18
Thanked 19 times in 14 posts
Default Response

Is it a private response Jason?
Mindset is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 03:01 AM   #5
NinjaTrader_Jason
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Breda, Netherlands
Posts: 12,781
Thanks: 146
Thanked 582 times in 566 posts
Default

Hello Mindset,

I was referring to the response I posted at forum thread below.
http://www.ninjatrader-support2.com/...ad.php?t=21100
NinjaTrader_Jason is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezing Crashing Mike_32 Miscellaneous Support 7 10-01-2008 04:52 AM
Ati & Ib Gumphrie Automated Trading 2 07-04-2008 07:03 PM
Switching back & forth IB & Zen asalada Installation and Licensing 1 05-27-2008 11:12 PM
Forex & IB cls71 Connecting 4 01-25-2008 02:35 PM
Forex & IB TraderGuy SuperDOM and other Order Entry Windows 6 01-15-2008 02:03 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:59 AM.

FULL RISK DISCLOSURE: Futures trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.