Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > Application Technical Support > Strategy Analyzer

Strategy Analyzer Support for automated system backtesting and optimization using the NinjaTrader Strategy Analyzer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2009, 07:31 PM   #1
VinnyB
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default Volume Alert strategy

I just created an audible volume alert as a strategy.

It works great but my question is...is this the right way to create such an alert and, if so, do I need to disable all the order execution stuff?

Feel like something's going to happen when I go live

Thanks much,

v.
VinnyB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 08:17 PM   #2
VinnyB
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default Follow Up

Di I have to reinsert this strategy [indicator] each time I start NT?

It seems to have disappeared when I exited and restarted NT.

If so, is there any way to override this or make this an indicator?

Again, this seems like it should be something in the program...maybe I'm just not seeing it.

Thanks dudes..Vinny B
VinnyB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 02:27 AM   #3
NinjaTrader_Jason
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Breda, Netherlands
Posts: 12,833
Thanks: 148
Thanked 591 times in 574 posts
Default

Hello VinnyB,

Yes, you can create an alert using a strategy. As long as your strategy is not programmed to submit any order and only to trigger a sound when certain conditions are met, it will not submit any orders.

Unfortunately, strategies cannot be saved in a chart, so you will need to re-insert it each session.

Indicators can be saved in a chart template.

Yes, you could create an alert as indicator as well. Please see the link below for more information regarding custom creating indicators.
http://www.ninjatrader-support.com/H...verview18.html
NinjaTrader_Jason is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 09:58 AM   #4
VinnyB
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Thank you Jason. Already switched to an indicator and it's working great. Someone on board is helping me tweak it.

V.
VinnyB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to send an alert (email) when Automated Strategy STOPS dax3k Connecting 10 04-01-2009 09:40 AM
volume alert bdeja General Programming 2 03-20-2009 08:55 AM
price alert - audio alert - not functioning well diage4 Market Analyzer 3 12-29-2008 11:24 AM
Alert not shown in Alert window during Replay clint2008 Strategy Development 4 10-21-2008 12:02 PM
sound alert for volume duck_CA Charting 1 04-12-2008 07:07 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:52 AM.

FULL RISK DISCLOSURE: Futures trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.