Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > Application Technical Support > Miscellaneous Support

Miscellaneous Support Miscellaneous support issues.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2009, 01:51 AM   #1
lindsayf
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 191
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default loading speed

Hi
Why is NT so slow in loading up a live feed workspace?..I also have MT4 and it loads up much much faster with much more historical data. Have i got NT configured wrongly somehow..or is it inherently slower for some reason?
thanks
lindsayf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 04:02 AM   #2
NinjaTrader_Vince
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,555
Thanks: 53
Thanked 75 times in 72 posts
Default

Lindsay,

What are your computer specs? Do you have all your programs installed on the same computer? It could be you're pulling too many resources. Have you checked your CPU usage?
NinjaTrader_Vince is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 06:19 AM   #3
lindsayf
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 191
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

its a new dual core high speed processor (not sure of exact spec without looking) 2 meg of ram..it is dedicated to trading so very little else on it..not sure how to check cpu usage...but it remains that MT4 loads up in a split second and NT can take 30 sec to load a workspace with 2 charts?

thanks
lindsayf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 06:26 AM   #4
NinjaTrader_Vince
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,555
Thanks: 53
Thanked 75 times in 72 posts
Default

Lindsay,

Please check the following link and see if that improves performance:
http://www.ninjatrader-support.com/H...anceTips1.html
NinjaTrader_Vince is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 06:53 AM   #5
lindsayf
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 191
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

how long should it take for a reasonable setup to load a 200 tick NQ workspace with a few indicators on it? ..I wouldnt think my internet connection would bea factor as it doesnt affect MT4

thks
lindsayf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 07:08 AM   #6
NinjaTrader_Vince
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,555
Thanks: 53
Thanked 75 times in 72 posts
Default

Lindsay,

Normally about 10 to 30 seconds. However it can take longer when a large amount of historical data is requested.
NinjaTrader_Vince is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 07:18 AM   #7
lindsayf
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 191
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

mine is probably in the normal range then thanks
lindsayf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connenction Speed safetrading Miscellaneous Support 8 06-25-2013 12:10 PM
Backtesting speed Phyre Strategy Development 1 02-12-2009 05:04 AM
Processor Speed and Optimization lawyse Strategy Analyzer 3 11-23-2008 12:24 PM
Connection speed question. higler Connecting 1 04-13-2008 01:46 PM
Variable playback speed. VagyokC4 Suggestions And Feedback 1 11-10-2007 01:05 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:50 AM.

FULL RISK DISCLOSURE: Futures trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.