Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > Application Technical Support > Connecting

Connecting Support for establishing connections to your broker or market data service provider.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2009, 08:41 PM   #1
Dobbes
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default Connected is orange

Hello,

My internet connection went down for a minute or two and now that its back, the word connected is in orange in my control center. What exactly does that mean? Why won't it reconnect to my broker? (Zen-fire)
Dobbes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 08:43 PM   #2
Dobbes
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

I should also add that I have a strategy running.
Dobbes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 02:35 AM   #3
NinjaTrader_Jason
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Breda, Netherlands
Posts: 12,760
Thanks: 146
Thanked 579 times in 563 posts
Default

Hello Dobbes,

The orange color indicates the connection is not established successfully. Usually you either only receive data or you can only select your live account and not both.

Please restart NinjaTrader and connect to Zen-Fire. Check if the lower left corner of the Control Center states 'Connected - *connection name*' in green.
NinjaTrader_Jason is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 07:19 AM   #4
Dobbes
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

That's interesting that I had to re-establish the connection manually. If I hadn't been there, the strategy would have had a huge interruption and an open order.
Dobbes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 07:25 AM   #5
NinjaTrader_Jason
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Breda, Netherlands
Posts: 12,760
Thanks: 146
Thanked 579 times in 563 posts
Default

Unfortunately NinjaTrader does not dictate when a connection is lost. It operates like a radio receiver in that it receives a signal from your broker and then displays/reports these signals back to you the trader. When a connection is lost, it is the broker's API that determines this and reports this to NinjaTrader which in turn reports this back to the trader.

The common problems that contribute to this are:
  • ISP issues
  • hardware firewall issues changing IP addresses frequently
  • Dynamic ISP address switching the address frequently intraday. Usually this happens once a week but you may want to check with your ISP. If they do change daily, a static IP address may work.
  • With Windows XP SP2, if you have more than 10 open TCPIP socket connections open (10 programs making connections through the internet) windows will randomly shut down some connections
  • Broker servers having problems
NinjaTrader_Jason is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 07:27 AM   #6
Dobbes
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Thanks Jason. I'll look in to all of those. Can't say I want this to happen again.
Dobbes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swing(10).SwingLow[0].Pen.Color.Orange duck_CA Strategy Development 5 03-13-2009 06:30 AM
Orange Number Box chrisp SuperDOM and other Order Entry Windows 3 11-20-2008 12:27 PM
Connected but no data :-( CEHansen Connecting 6 08-07-2008 06:12 PM
Orange Juice bmaltz Charting 1 07-30-2007 02:07 AM
connected to ib but no data etc...? coffee898 Connecting 6 03-14-2007 07:36 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:40 PM.

FULL RISK DISCLOSURE: Futures trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.