Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > Application Technical Support > Market Analyzer

Market Analyzer Support for the NinjaTrader Market Analyzer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2009, 12:16 PM   #1
KBJ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: , Florida, USA
Posts: 665
Thanks: 36
Thanked 11 times in 8 posts
Default Excessive Memory Usage in Market Analyzer

I have several Market Analyzer columns that I'm defining which take up an extreme amount of memory and essentially make the Market Analyzer unusable for the functions that I'm trying to perform.

The problem is that I'm specifying different DataSeries 'Type' and 'Value' settings for different columns, but there is apparently no way to limit the number of bars that get loaded on a column-by-column basis.

I know about the setting of '# of bars to look back' in the Market Analyzer Properties, and lowering that from its default value of 100 helps a little, but I would like to be able to do this for each individual column.

For instance, I have a column which is defined for 1440 minute (1 day) bars, and I don't want the Market Analyzer to load 100 days worth of data, when all I need to look at is the last couple of days. But for other columns, I may want to look at more than just a few days. So this problem could easily be solved if the number of bars to load were individually settable by column.

My request is that the Market Analyzer column definitions be changed to use the Properties setting as a default which would be used if a similar, proposed setting of '# of bars to look back' for the individual Column definition is never set.

I'm trying to make sure any requests I make are well explained and relatively simple, so hopefully there might be a chance they could be added to NinjaTrader version 7.

Thanks.
KBJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 01:15 PM   #2
NinjaTrader_RJ
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_RJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 1,837
Thanks: 5
Thanked 22 times in 21 posts
Default

Hello,

Thank you for your post and suggestion.

I will forward this to development for future consideration.
NinjaTrader_RJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do unused indicators cause increase memory usage? chartlearner Connecting 7 11-26-2008 09:20 AM
Strategy Analyzer memory usage? bluelou Strategy Analyzer 6 08-11-2008 01:28 PM
Best practices for NinjaScript testing. re: memory usage DaVinci Miscellaneous Support 1 06-28-2008 02:24 PM
Memory Leak/Market Analyzer... funk101 Historical NinjaTrader 6.5 Beta Threads 3 03-30-2008 11:47 PM
Market Replay Usage maxpi Suggestions And Feedback 1 11-22-2007 11:28 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:49 PM.

FULL RISK DISCLOSURE: Futures trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.