Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > Application Technical Support > Charting

Charting Support for NinjaTrader Advanced Charting.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2008, 04:24 PM   #1
pclark
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default Three Line Break Chart?

I think I know the answer to this but I will ask anyway. Does NT have the ability to do this or has someone written code to allow this? Is it possible for the future if not? Thanks.....
pclark is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 04:40 PM   #2
NinjaTrader_RJ
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_RJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 1,837
Thanks: 5
Thanked 22 times in 21 posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pclark View Post
I think I know the answer to this but I will ask anyway. Does NT have the ability to do this or has someone written code to allow this? Is it possible for the future if not? Thanks.....
Hello Pclark,

Thank you for your post.

Can you please clarify what you mean by a 3 line break chart?

Thank you!
NinjaTrader_RJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 09:59 PM   #3
pclark
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

I saw this article and the writer mentioned that some trading platforms offer this. I am pretty sure I have not seen them on NT but I thought someone might have coded them or maybe they could be something to think about for the future.

http://www.surinotes.com/Tradestation/articles/3lpb.pdf

Thanks....
pclark is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 03:56 AM   #4
Bondi9999
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: australia
Posts: 16
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default Three Line Break Indicator Available

Hi,

The indicator is available in the indicator section of the forum. I don't know how to post a link to it so I have attached the NT file.

Regards
Attached Files
File Type: zip ThreeLinesBreak.zip (3.0 KB, 456 views)
Bondi9999 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 07:00 AM   #5
tlan294
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Question TLB: How to make this indicator generate a signal?

Great visuals - I'm trying to get a tradeable "paint" when up and down trending (ie an indicator which is, say +1 when "green", -1 when "red", and thus a trading trigger). I've tried various approaches, but can only currently generate a paint which flashes (tick received) on the current bar only. I'm sure the solution is really simple..... Anyone?
tlan294 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 07:05 PM   #6
jojotrader
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Send a message via Skype™ to jojotrader
Default Only Price Action.

Hi there,

Is there way to setup the TLB, that is not time related, means, not updating in time, like now, but only PA.
You can see at the example in terms of months here, how the first TLB chart is not Time Related, only price is driving the TLB's.
In daytrading session, just the same, you can typical see a non movement during lunchtime, overnight en premarket, very nice to have.
Hopefully possible with Ninja charts, I know TS have it.

Thanks again.

Jojo

The general rules for calculating a Line Break chart are:
  • If the price exceeds the previous line's high price, a new white line is drawn.
  • If the price falls below the previous line's low price, a new black line is drawn.
  • If the price does not rise above nor fall below the previous line, nothing is drawn.
Attached Thumbnails
Last edited by jojotrader; 06-14-2009 at 10:46 PM.
jojotrader is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 09:26 AM   #7
JAXESDAYTRADER
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default 3 line break charts

hey JOJO. just wondering if you had any luck with getting Ninja to use 3 line break charting... Are me and you the only two who use it ? lol... Let me know if you found out anything.

THX,

JAXESDAYTRADER
JAXESDAYTRADER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 11:02 PM   #8
zacharydw00
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 83
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

I modified the above indicator to give a signal. I'm in the process of moving and will post it in the file forum as soon as I can get to it. Also I'm trying to create a 3LB bar type. I'll reply here when I've posted them.
zacharydw00 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 03:18 PM   #9
zacharydw00
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 83
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

I uploaded the modified indicators and bar types.
zacharydw00 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 02:56 PM   #10
ChrisD
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default Three line Break

Thanks for the post Bondi
ChrisD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 07:57 AM   #11
bapovs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zacharydw00 View Post
I uploaded the modified indicators and bar types.

Hi Zachardyw00,

Were can i find the 3LB indicator that you modified? The one from NT itself is not working/calculated properly.

2: Also for a MOD:

Here you can see the differences between the Sierrachart version and the NT7 version
Attached Images
File Type: png 1291214088_68_UploadImage.png (8.9 KB, 135 views)
File Type: jpg ES 12-10 (1 Min LineBreak) 1-12-2010.jpg (59.1 KB, 141 views)
Last edited by bapovs; 12-01-2010 at 08:39 AM.
bapovs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 09:28 AM   #12
zacharydw00
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 83
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bapovs View Post
Hi Zachardyw00,
Were can i find the 3LB indicator that you modified? The one from NT itself is not working/calculated properly.
Did you do a search for "3 line break" in the download section?

Search for ThreeLineBreak or 3lb
Last edited by zacharydw00; 12-01-2010 at 12:51 PM.
zacharydw00 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 11:53 AM   #13
bapovs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Couldn't find it when searching for it. Do you find it?
bapovs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trend Line break out entry jtrade Strategy Development 3 08-31-2011 01:13 AM
How to display Bid/Ask Line on Chart amenlo9 Charting 5 08-19-2009 07:52 PM
Line Chart and $TICK vales yeneuro Charting 8 12-26-2008 05:43 AM
Three Line Break samiam30 Indicator Development 0 11-22-2007 11:30 AM
Add Bid and ask line in chart webhalla Charting 1 05-23-2007 02:08 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:20 AM.

FULL RISK DISCLOSURE: Futures trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.