Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > Application Technical Support > Charting

Charting Support for NinjaTrader Advanced Charting.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2008, 04:38 PM   #1
gluebunny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default Charting high/low/close and open/close widths

Hi there, I've always been a bit frustrated with NT in that I can't adjust the bars to be quite the right thickness, combined with a small width open/close tick since the open/close tick lines change in width relative to the thickness of the bar. Basically with alt-arrows and ctrl-arrows I can't quite get the proper vertical bar thickness with small open/close line widths and proper spacing. It would be nice if all of these were individually adjustable. Maybe make Alt-left/right arrows be "open/close horizontal width"?

But, that's not my main question. The main one is am I able to chart just high/low/close? I don't care about open. I don't want it sullying my chart. I can't seem to figure out how to make it do this. Every other charting program I've used allows it, so I'm sure NT does...just darned if I can figure out how to do so. Basically I want "HiLo" but with "tiny" ticks for close.

Thanks for any tips (on either question)
gluebunny is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 05:12 PM   #2
pauly139
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast, Australia
Posts: 99
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Send a message via Skype™ to pauly139
Default Creating HLC bars

Hi

It is quite easy. Select the HiLo bars, then add an EMA indicator with a period of 1, and plot that using a dot. Voila, HLC bars!

HTH
Paul.
pauly139 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 05:51 PM   #3
gluebunny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Hm, very close, thanks. Two issues to solve

1) I can't affect the size of the dot and size 1 is too large (can probably do this with a custom EMA)

2) The colour doesn't match the bar if I colour bars, again, can probably be solved with a custom EMA.

Thanks, I'll poke around with EMA later and get something going.

Cheers
gluebunny is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2008, 07:40 PM   #4
anachronist
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 272
Thanks: 4
Thanked 7 times in 7 posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pauly139 View Post
It is quite easy. Select the HiLo bars, then add an EMA indicator with a period of 1, and plot that using a dot. Voila, HLC bars!
You could try plotting it using a hash also.

This is a kludgey workaround to a real limitation in NinjaTrader. No solution you work up yourself will be adequate. The real answer is for the NT development team to agree to expand the plot types available. There should be just one type of bar plot, OHLC, with properties that you can set to turn off the O or C as needed.

-Alex
anachronist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2008, 07:50 PM   #5
pauly139
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast, Australia
Posts: 99
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Send a message via Skype™ to pauly139
Default

Hi

I choose to be happy with the solution, as it is exactly that. I had a requirement, this addresses it.

Sorry to hear you choose to be unhappy with it.

Rgds
Paul
pauly139 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2008, 09:15 PM   #6
anachronist
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 272
Thanks: 4
Thanked 7 times in 7 posts
Default

I'm glad to hear the solution works for you.

I'll be the first to agree that when you need to get something to work, you often have to work around limitations. I've sure created enough kludges to solve such problems in my time, on other platforms besides NinjaTrader. And no, I am not happy about having to do so.

-Alex
anachronist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2008, 11:33 PM   #7
gluebunny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

I somewhat agree, it's nicer when the package support it rather than having to hack around the lack of. Hopefully the NT team takes this up as a task and schedules it into their next release.

Cheers
gluebunny is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 07:35 AM   #8
NinjaTrader_Josh
NinjaTrader Product Manager
 
NinjaTrader_Josh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 17,460
Thanks: 1
Thanked 171 times in 82 posts
Default

Thanks for the suggestion. To clarify, having selectable O and C being selected will solve all issues related to this thread? I will forward this to development.
NinjaTrader_Josh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 09:47 AM   #9
gluebunny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Mostly. Having O/C being selectable yes.

And also have O/C ticks be able to be made thin/thick and wide/thin individually of the main bar and each other.
gluebunny is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 09:51 AM   #10
NinjaTrader_Josh
NinjaTrader Product Manager
 
NinjaTrader_Josh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 17,460
Thanks: 1
Thanked 171 times in 82 posts
Default

gluebunny,

I am not sure what you mean by thin/thick and wide/thin. Please post a screenshot of what you mean. Thanks.
NinjaTrader_Josh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 10:44 AM   #11
gluebunny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

The open and close tick lines have thicknesses, and widths. Right now those adjust based on ctrl-arrows and alt-arrows that affect the entire bar AND the O/C tick lines. Having those independantly adjustable would be nice.

eg: I want nice thick bars, closely spaced, and very small tiny 2 by 1 pixel close ticks.
gluebunny is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 10:47 AM   #12
NinjaTrader_Josh
NinjaTrader Product Manager
 
NinjaTrader_Josh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 17,460
Thanks: 1
Thanked 171 times in 82 posts
Default

Thank you for your suggestion. I will forward it to development.
NinjaTrader_Josh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plotting Open, High, Low, and Close. strategy1 General Programming 1 07-22-2008 03:20 PM
Previous Day's Close, High, Low Billy Valentine General Programming 2 04-13-2008 04:36 PM
Bar Close / Open timing Kardinal Charting 2 07-06-2007 08:06 AM
Trouble with Open, High, Low, Close SuzyG Indicator Development 4 03-05-2007 05:03 AM
Open position on close down andrewedmondson ATM Strategies (Discretionary Trading) 3 10-05-2005 07:02 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:54 PM.

FULL RISK DISCLOSURE: Futures trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.