Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > Application Technical Support > Connecting

Connecting Support for establishing connections to your broker or market data service provider.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2014, 12:21 PM   #1
pedroprada@bellsouth.net
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 328
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 times in 10 posts
Default Any Updates from Mirus Futures?

I am currently with RCG/ Mirus and have not seen ANY solution regarding the Zenfire connection.

Last update was from 1/7/14 on using Continuum for Dorman customers.

I emailed my broker this morning and have not see any reply

Can anyone advise what solution is being implemented for Mirus/RCG?
pedroprada@bellsouth.net is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 12:28 PM   #2
steve0617
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 77
Thanks: 3
Thanked 9 times in 8 posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pedroprada@bellsouth.net View Post
I am currently with RCG/ Mirus and have not seen ANY solution regarding the Zenfire connection.

Last update was from 1/7/14 on using Continuum for Dorman customers.

I emailed my broker this morning and have not see any reply

Can anyone advise what solution is being implemented for Mirus/RCG?
I am exactly where you are as that's me too. The only option they've released so far is to leave RCG and go to Dorman.

So, I called RCG and talked to Brian Leonard. He's the retail guy for them. They are offering the same NT/Continuum/Kinetick plan that Mirus says you have to go to Dorman for.

They may also be doing some rebating like Mirus is with Dorman. You'll have to leave Mirus (fine with me at this point) and go directly with RCG for this.

Call Brian first before you just move somewhere else as it may be the easiest thing for you. I haven't decided what I'm doing yet but at least staying (essentially) at RCG is an option.

Devil you know, right?
steve0617 is offline  
Reply With Quote
The following user says thank you to steve0617 for this post:
Old 01-09-2014, 12:32 PM   #3
NinjaTrader_Brandon
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Brandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,101
Thanks: 24
Thanked 164 times in 154 posts
Default

That is correct, Continuum with Kinetick is what is being offered at this time. Your broker will be able to give you details on making this transition. You can contact sales[at]ninjatrader[dot]com for any assistance on this you may need also.
NinjaTrader_Brandon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 12:39 PM   #4
Instamess
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 232
Thanks: 121
Thanked 57 times in 23 posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NinjaTrader_Brandon View Post
That is correct, Continuum with Kinetick is what is being offered at this time.
Thanks Brandon.

I'm too with Mirus / RCG and am considering options.

Is there an easy way to find out what the Continuum with Kinetick solution entails and includes? What's the same as what I've got now and what would be different? Same instruments, same data, live ticks etc etc? Terms? Costs? Other differences?

Is there anything that would be different from the trader's point of view (obviously there are back end differences)?
Instamess is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 12:44 PM   #5
NinjaTrader_Brandon
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Brandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,101
Thanks: 24
Thanked 164 times in 154 posts
Default

Hello Instamess,

Below I have provided a link to the Understanding the data provided by your connectivity provider section of our help guide.
http://www.ninjatrader.com/support/h...rical_data.htm

Below I have provided a link to Kineticks website.
http://www.kinetick.com/

you can contact your broker or support[at]kinetick[dot]com for more information
NinjaTrader_Brandon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 12:50 PM   #6
Rian01
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lake County CA
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Kinetick does not have ICE data so no TF trading available. This is just one big difference for me. Because for that, I'm leaving the Mirus solution and their whole debacle, looking at AMP, Optimus, or Zaner.
Rian01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 12:54 PM   #7
Trader_55
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 129
Thanks: 38
Thanked 24 times in 17 posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Instamess View Post
Is there anything that would be different from the trader's point of view (obviously there are back end differences)?
Differences: you have to pay for your own datafeed (Kinetick), you can't trade anything on ICE (DX, TF, etc.), and commission costs are an extra $0.15 per contract I think. Eventually they will re-enable the Zen-Fire feed (BigTick), which is new code and untested in the real world, which you will have a choice of switching to sometime in the next couple of months, I suspect. It's either that, or go to another broker.
Trader_55 is offline  
Reply With Quote
The following user says thank you to Trader_55 for this post:
Old 01-09-2014, 01:04 PM   #8
Instamess
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 232
Thanks: 121
Thanked 57 times in 23 posts
Default

Thanks, Brandon. Useful links but your guarded and carefully worded post suggests there may be many differences that I can't know in advance. This opens up the possibility of unpleasant surprises awaiting me once I move over.

I do note from the first link that some things I currently get that Kinetick don't provide include
- Historical Bid/Ask Minute Data
- Historical Bid/Ask Daily Data


Then, some things that are provided currently for free are now subscription based
- Basic Realtime data (Connectivity Provider Real-Time Data)
- Historical Tick Data
- Historical Minute Data

The basic subscription is $55 per month (no rebate anymore, that's been cancelled), but there are numerous options and I've no idea what options I would need to add to bump the package up to what we were getting with the ZenFire feed
Last edited by Instamess; 01-09-2014 at 01:07 PM.
Instamess is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 01:06 PM   #9
Instamess
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 232
Thanks: 121
Thanked 57 times in 23 posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trader_55 View Post
I suspect. It's either that, or go to another broker.
I've no problem with dropping Mirus, believe me. But then I'd have to drop RCG as well and I'm loathe to do that.
Instamess is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 02:14 PM   #10
NinjaTrader_Brandon
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Brandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,101
Thanks: 24
Thanked 164 times in 154 posts
Default

Hello Instamess,

Thanks for your reply.

I would have to refer you to your broker and Kinetick for additional information on what they can offer before making the change.
NinjaTrader_Brandon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 03:18 PM   #11
Instamess
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 232
Thanks: 121
Thanked 57 times in 23 posts
Default

Can anybody else share any caveats or warnings on this subject?
Instamess is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 05:40 PM   #12
steve0617
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 77
Thanks: 3
Thanked 9 times in 8 posts
Default

Just got this and posted in the big thread since that's where all the day to day stuff has been going.

http://www.ninjatrader.com/support/f...&postcount=638
steve0617 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 10:43 PM   #13
Jackali7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 31
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default Any one stayed with RCG and trading yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Instamess View Post
I've no problem with dropping Mirus, believe me. But then I'd have to drop RCG as well and I'm loathe to do that.
I'm thinking ... staying with RCG too ... may be our best solution for now.
Brian Leonard told me they will match Mirus prices too.

I'll call him tomorrow and talk to him again...
Jackali7 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mirus futures and IB dvercher Installation and Licensing 8 01-26-2012 12:54 PM
NT with Zen Fire (Mirus Futures) alibanez Installation and Licensing 1 04-09-2011 05:33 PM
Mirus Futures + Zen-Fire + eSignal Federico Connecting 1 10-08-2009 05:46 PM
Mirus Futures - No data in Account Tabs Rottyfan Installation and Licensing 2 03-01-2009 02:00 PM
velocity futures vs mirus (w/zenfire) justme Connecting 2 08-03-2008 04:26 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:10 PM.

FULL RISK DISCLOSURE: Futures trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.