Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > Application Technical Support > SuperDOM and other Order Entry Windows

SuperDOM and other Order Entry Windows Support for all NinjaTrader order entry windows including the SuperDOM.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2011, 10:03 PM   #1
JoshDance
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 406
Thanks: 22
Thanked 23 times in 12 posts
Default DOM levels

Why are there only 5 levels of depth in the superDOM? Another program I have tried (sierra chart) has 10 on each side. Is this a limitation within NT? On slower markets it makes no difference, like ES, but on fast moving markets it would be nice (like oil).
JoshDance is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 11:57 PM   #2
NinjaTrader_RyanO
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_RyanO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,201
Thanks: 3
Thanked 17 times in 16 posts
Default

Hi JoshDance,

Thank you for your post.

The SuperDOM can display a sixth level of cumulative depth which is accessible if you right-click on the SuperDOM and then select Properties and set the Show Cumulative Depth to True.

Additionally, if there are more than 5 levels worth of data available through your provider you can go to File > New > Level II and view more levels of Market Depth as the SuperDOM will only show the 5 levels, plus a cumulative level.
NinjaTrader_RyanO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 12:19 AM   #3
JoshDance
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 406
Thanks: 22
Thanked 23 times in 12 posts
Default

Ryan,

Thanks for the reply. I can see the 10 levels of depth in the level 2 window. Is there any reason in particular you do not allow the option to show these levels in the DOM?
JoshDance is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 02:02 AM   #4
NinjaTrader_Bertrand
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Bertrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 25,614
Thanks: 424
Thanked 1,641 times in 1,603 posts
Default

This is unfortunately just a current limitation - it's on our list for future consideration to enhance the DOM to show the 10 best bid / ask levels as well.
NinjaTrader_Bertrand is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 02:15 AM   #5
JoshDance
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 406
Thanks: 22
Thanked 23 times in 12 posts
Default

Thank you. Sometimes here you guys say things like "we will consider adding this..." etc., I would like to strongly encourage you to apply this change to the software. It seems like it would be pretty much the easiest mod you could make; I don't know your code obviously, but it would seem only a few variables changed to 10 would do the trick.
JoshDance is offline  
Reply With Quote
The following user says thank you to JoshDance for this post:
Old 04-30-2011, 12:10 AM   #6
Jonson
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 70
Thanks: 41
Thanked 2 times in 2 posts
Default

NinjaTrader_Bertrand
pls do is it
thanks
Jonson is offline  
Reply With Quote
The following user says thank you to Jonson for this post:
Old 05-08-2011, 02:20 PM   #7
jul0625
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default 10 Levels

YES! Adding 10 levels to the book would be a GREAT Addition!!!

Just want to say, I LOVE the software, and since I'm trading fast contracts like oil, dax etc., having a 10 deep book would be absolutely fantastic.

Hopefully you guys can do it! If it is coming up in a further edition, do any of you know when it should be expected?

Julian
Last edited by jul0625; 05-08-2011 at 02:23 PM.
jul0625 is offline  
Reply With Quote
The following user says thank you to jul0625 for this post:
Old 05-08-2011, 09:02 PM   #8
NinjaTrader_Brett
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Brett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 6,574
Thanks: 111
Thanked 319 times in 304 posts
Default

Hello,

I will send this into development.

Thank you for the suggestions as NinjaTrader is built on customer requests.

Have a great trading week!
NinjaTrader_Brett is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 03:31 PM   #9
pbylina
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 57
Thanks: 17
Thanked 3 times in 3 posts
Default

So you guys working on this yet?
pbylina is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 02:08 AM   #10
NinjaTrader_Vince
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,566
Thanks: 55
Thanked 77 times in 74 posts
Default

Hi,

We currently have no plans of expanding to 10 Levels. It is however on the list but can't provide any insight of when and if it will be added.
NinjaTrader_Vince is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 02:11 AM   #11
Grignouf
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

Hello, just my opinion, i'm looking to change software because NT haven't 10 levels in the DOM, for the scalper it's just impossible, why don't you change this like X_trader or another platforms. Is it so complicate to change this part of code in the DOM ? (it's a real question i don't know if it's easy but you think it's not a priority or if it's complicate).
Thanks
Grignouf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 08:53 AM   #12
NinjaTrader_Josh
NinjaTrader Product Manager
 
NinjaTrader_Josh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 17,460
Thanks: 1
Thanked 171 times in 82 posts
Default

Grignouf,

The DOM code is extremely sensitive and touching it in one way runs significant risk in breaking it in another. That being said, rest assured this item is on our feedback list and will be reviewed to see what can/cannot be done once development gets to the DOM enhancement phase of development. Unfortunately I cannot give you any ETA on when that might be.
NinjaTrader_Josh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 01:51 PM   #13
tickling
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 73
Thanks: 16
Thanked 6 times in 5 posts
Default

Is this something that is coming anytime soon ?
tickling is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 06:23 AM   #14
NinjaTrader_Brett
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Brett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 6,574
Thanks: 111
Thanked 319 times in 304 posts
Default

Hello,

Development is still in process for our next major release of the platform. With that said any changes in this area would be for our next major release of the software. Which I would like to correctly set the expectation that it will be some time before we release. There is no release date or expected release date at this time.

-Brett
NinjaTrader_Brett is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 01:06 AM   #15
bloomdido
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default data level on static superdome

I noticed that in the static Superdome. when the trend of prices falls or rises faster, the data move to the end of the book until they disappear, despite the atuto center. Could you advise me how to set up?Thanks
bloomdido is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
levels of books onurbbruno Automated Trading 1 04-26-2010 06:55 AM
Moving S/R levels beatnik Indicator Development 3 11-03-2009 07:14 AM
Volume levels nelson Miscellaneous Support 20 03-03-2009 08:05 AM
T Levels vicrose General Programming 3 11-05-2008 09:14 AM
All DOM levels in market analyzer RedDuke Market Analyzer 4 05-24-2007 01:58 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:22 AM.

FULL RISK DISCLOSURE: Futures trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.