Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > Application Technical Support > Connecting

Connecting Support for establishing connections to your broker or market data service provider.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2012, 08:41 PM   #1
pedroprada@bellsouth.net
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 328
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 times in 10 posts
Default 15 MBPS vs. 50 MBPS for Live Trading

I trade 200 tick charts with 3 futures instruments (CL, 6E, TF)

I already have 15 MBPS download/ 5 MBpS.

I would like to know if I will notice much difference for trading between a 15Mbps/5mbps upload vs. 50 MBPS Download/ 15 Mbps Upload.

I am guessing that the information coming from the exchange on a second basis can be measured in Kbps. But can you please confirm this?

I would like to know if it would be worth paying more than double for this connection

Thanks

PEDRO
pedroprada@bellsouth.net is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:07 PM   #2
sledge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 1,860
Thanks: 372
Thanked 509 times in 435 posts
Default

Try it for a month?

I doubt NT tracking 3 futures pulls in anything that would require anything beyond a DSL connection. Record you data, and see how big the files are.

You buy/sell order should be under 1K?! Could NT support verify? I would even suggest it's under 500 characters.


Your latency would be more of a concern, no? Would your ping be faster with a double speed connection?

Are your fills that bad and you are lagging?

Go here, http://www.speedtest.net/ and test your connection.

I had a failing docsis 1.0 modem, that finally failed, and I upgraded to docsis 3.0, and man - that this is 3x as fast.









Quote:
Originally Posted by pedroprada@bellsouth.net View Post
I trade 200 tick charts with 3 futures instruments (CL, 6E, TF)

I already have 15 MBPS download/ 5 MBpS.

I would like to know if I will notice much difference for trading between a 15Mbps/5mbps upload vs. 50 MBPS Download/ 15 Mbps Upload.

I am guessing that the information coming from the exchange on a second basis can be measured in Kbps. But can you please confirm this?

I would like to know if it would be worth paying more than double for this connection

Thanks

PEDRO
sledge is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 05:05 AM   #3
pedroprada@bellsouth.net
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 328
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 times in 10 posts
Default

I believe my current connection is fine.

However I am always led to believe that as an intraday trader you need the fastest connection possible.

So I am trying to find out if it would make a significant improvement to upgrade my connection and pay double

Thanks

Pedro
pedroprada@bellsouth.net is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BUG: NT7 15 may be live when the global symulate flag is set pbcah Version 7 Beta General Questions & Bug Reports 4 05-18-2010 08:06 AM
Cersion 7.15 does not show my live account nigeleyre Automated Trading 1 05-17-2010 04:09 AM
Automated Trading is not working on NT 7.15 kangethe Version 7 Beta General Questions & Bug Reports 1 05-04-2010 03:01 PM
Is there a way to dynamically change from sim trading to live money trading and back? gv1150 Strategy Analyzer 1 10-30-2009 09:03 AM
Using NTís Live trading license with IBís paper-trading account JoeStein Installation and Licensing 2 03-24-2009 10:18 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:50 AM.

FULL RISK DISCLOSURE: Futures trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.