Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > Application Technical Support > Charting

Charting Support for NinjaTrader Advanced Charting.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2012, 03:54 PM   #1
billr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 317
Thanks: 31
Thanked 2 times in 2 posts
Default what is Ninja so different than stockcharts.com?

I have noticed on several occasions, that the indicators produced by stockcharts tend to be much more 'dynamic' than those of NT. What I mean is that stockcharts tend to show more relative movement in their indicators vs. ninja given the same set up. If I have an indicator that I like in stockcharts, when I go to reproduce the NT version, it tends to be relatively flat. Has anyone ever compared the calculations for stockcharts vs. ninja and found any fundamental difference in the approach to how indicators (or charts for that matter) are calculated/created? It seems that most of the calculations for stockcharts follow closely to the originators formulas. What about NT?
billr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 05:53 PM   #2
Radical
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 543
Thanks: 80
Thanked 189 times in 131 posts
Default

You can compare them side by side, just look at the code for the indicators you're talking about. Tools > Edit Ninjascript > Indicator. Though if I had to guess, I'd say the difference you're seeing is probably due to the scaling rather than the way the indicator is being calculated.
Radical is offline  
Reply With Quote
The following user says thank you to Radical for this post:
Old 05-05-2012, 06:50 PM   #3
sledge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 1,837
Thanks: 364
Thanked 498 times in 426 posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by billr View Post
I have noticed on several occasions, that the indicators produced by stockcharts tend to be much more 'dynamic' than those of NT. What I mean is that stockcharts tend to show more relative movement in their indicators vs. ninja given the same set up. If I have an indicator that I like in stockcharts, when I go to reproduce the NT version, it tends to be relatively flat. Has anyone ever compared the calculations for stockcharts vs. ninja and found any fundamental difference in the approach to how indicators (or charts for that matter) are calculated/created? It seems that most of the calculations for stockcharts follow closely to the originators formulas. What about NT?
Please post some concrete examples.

Are you looking intraday? Daily?

Log or Arithmetic charts?

ema's? adx? macd's?
sledge is offline  
Reply With Quote
The following user says thank you to sledge for this post:
Old 05-05-2012, 08:58 PM   #4
billr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 317
Thanks: 31
Thanked 2 times in 2 posts
Default

Radical and sledge, thanks for your posts. I think you are correct that it is a function of scale. I am usually careful about letting something simple like that catch me, but I was frustrated with a data problem (I think) that is causing large flat spots in StochRSI. I checked the calculations and they seem consistent. What I thought was my example for today was corrected when I noticed the stockcharts was set to log. Previously, I ran into an instance where NT would correctly show ATR as a single point at each bar whereas Stockcharts apparently used the difference between points to create bars. This triggered some issues of 'flat' charts. (I am helping someone with indicators so I don't have too much experience in daily use of those in particular and almost none in stockcharts.)
billr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 06:18 AM   #5
TomTrades
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 29
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

Hi Billr
There is a significant difference in StockCharts.com They use split adjusted data! So the price action that the indicator is based on may be different from NinjaTrader.
TomTrades is offline  
Reply With Quote
The following user says thank you to TomTrades for this post:
Old 05-06-2012, 09:10 AM   #6
billr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 317
Thanks: 31
Thanked 2 times in 2 posts
Default

Thanks Tom. I hadn't even considered that. Wouldn't have guessed it would have made much difference. Anyway, I think the premise of my question was flawed, as previous posters have made me aware.
billr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 03:19 AM   #7
NinjaTrader_Bertrand
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Bertrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 25,653
Thanks: 428
Thanked 1,653 times in 1,614 posts
Default

We're generally using industry standard formulas behind our default indicators shipped with NinjaTrader, each formula could be of course reviewed in our NinjaScript editor.

For the differences, I would believe it's most likely due to the differences in data used - we would also have an option to split adjust data, have you checked it out?

http://www.ninjatrader.com/support/h..._dividends.htm
NinjaTrader_Bertrand is offline  
Reply With Quote
The following user says thank you to NinjaTrader_Bertrand for this post:
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
auto coversion of Ninja 6 templates to Ninja 7 aquarian1 Charting 0 12-05-2011 07:00 PM
Change from Sim Ninja to Live Trading Ninja Eoghan O Sullivan Installation and Licensing 1 02-23-2010 11:31 AM
orders sent from one ninja to many ninja on lan-internet alleillo Miscellaneous Support 1 12-24-2008 12:49 AM
Can Ninja script print into Ninja Log/Trace file? maxima General Programming 2 05-24-2008 04:48 PM
Ninja silmulation and Ninja standard gretrader Installation and Licensing 3 10-24-2007 03:34 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:43 PM.

FULL RISK DISCLOSURE: Futures trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.