Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > NinjaScript Development Support > Indicator Development

Indicator Development Support for the development of custom indicators using NinjaScript.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2011, 04:02 AM   #1
Ramon
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Posts: 41
Thanks: 16
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default OnMarketData ,Historical prints.

About OnmarketData ,Help Guide Says: This method is not called on historical data.

i'm codifying an indicator about deltas , actually is quite simple but enough to my needs. It use OnMarketData but only gets data for the last bar, even that are lost when reload ninjascript.

I can see as indicators like Volume Foot prints has different behavior from NT 6,5 to 7. Now a days can fill whole the chart from several bars ago and I am wondering if there is a new way in NT 7 to get historical prints as well as the bid/ask positions

Thanks
Ramon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 04:36 AM   #2
NinjaTrader_Bertrand
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Bertrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 25,604
Thanks: 424
Thanked 1,637 times in 1,599 posts
Default

Hi Ramon, the OnMarketData() workings in NT7 would still be for realtime use only - what we've added in NT7 is multiseries indicator support, so you could for example add a bid / last series and then access their historical values in your code.

http://www.ninjatrader.com/support/h...s/nt7/add3.htm

http://www.ninjatrader.com/support/h...rical_data.htm
NinjaTrader_Bertrand is online now  
Reply With Quote
The following user says thank you to NinjaTrader_Bertrand for this post:
Old 05-12-2011, 05:24 AM   #3
Ramon
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Posts: 41
Thanks: 16
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

It sounds fantastic. I'll try it (if i know how to)
Ramon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 01:44 PM   #4
Ramon
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Posts: 41
Thanks: 16
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

I don't know if i understand the correct use of multiseries.

I'm trying something like the next:
Code:
       protected override void Initialize()
        {
        CalculateOnBarClose    = false;  
        Add(Instrument.FullName, PeriodType.Tick, 1, MarketDataType.Last);
        Add(Instrument.FullName, PeriodType.Tick, 1, MarketDataType.Bid);
        Add(Instrument.FullName, PeriodType.Tick, 1, MarketDataType.Ask);
           BarsRequired = 2;
        }
        protected override void OnBarUpdate()
        {
            if (BarsInProgress == 0)
            {
                if (FirstTickOfBar)
                {
                    dLastPrice = 0;
                    dAskPrice = 0;
                    dBidPrice = 0;
                    lBidVolume=0;
                    lAskVolume=0;
                    lDeltas=0;
                }
            }
             if (Historical)
             {
                HistoricalBranch();
            }

        }
        protected override void OnMarketData(MarketDataEventArgs e) 
        {
        if (BarsInProgress == 0)
        {    
            CalcDeltas( e.MarketDataType,  e.Price, e.Volume);
        }    

        private void HistoricalBranch()
        {
        if (CurrentBars[0] <= BarsRequired)       return;
            if (BarsInProgress == 0)
            {
            }
            else if (BarsInProgress == 1)
            {
            DataType=MarketDataType.Last;
            }
            else if (BarsInProgress ==2)
            {
            DataType=MarketDataType.Bid;
            }
            else if (BarsInProgress == 3)
            {
             DataType=MarketDataType.Ask;
            }
            CalcDeltas( DataType,  Close[0], (long) Volume[0]);

        }
        private void CalcDeltas(MarketDataType DataType, double dPrice, long lVolume)
        {    
        if (DataType == MarketDataType.Last)
        {
            if ((dPrice > dBidPrice ) && (dPrice >= dAskPrice))
                //  ASK  => BUY
                {
                    lAskVolume +=  lVolume;
                    lDeltas += lVolume;
                }
             else
                //  BID  => SELL
                {
                     lBidVolume +=  lVolume;
                    lDeltas -= lVolume;
                }

             // Do things like draw text , diamonds, etc.
                DrawThings(dPrice,lAskVolume,lBidVolume,lDeltas);
         }
           else if (DataType == MarketDataType.Ask)
                dAskPrice = dPrice;
            
        else if (DataType == MarketDataType.Bid)
                dBidPrice = dPrice;
    
        }
]Historical data doesn't bear any resemblance with online data and when ONMARKETDATA starts , data are exactly correct but multiply by four.

After uncountable variations i've got into a deep rut
Any suggestion?
Ramon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 09:15 AM   #5
NinjaTrader_Bertrand
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Bertrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 25,604
Thanks: 424
Thanked 1,637 times in 1,599 posts
Default

Could you please contact me at support at ninjatrader dot com Attn Bertrand with a script I could run here to understand better?

The BIP call is OnMarketData() is meant for distinguishing between different instruments, it would return BIP0 for all series if you only deal with one instrument.
NinjaTrader_Bertrand is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 01:51 PM   #6
Ramon
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Posts: 41
Thanks: 16
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

done.

Thanks in advance
Ramon
Ramon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 04:39 AM   #7
NinjaTrader_Bertrand
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Bertrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 25,604
Thanks: 424
Thanked 1,637 times in 1,599 posts
Default

Thanks, I received the script and will take a look shortly.
NinjaTrader_Bertrand is online now  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My chart prints an error from mbtrading.... XXtrem Automated Trading 6 01-24-2011 10:02 AM
T&S HOD/LOD prints smeagol Miscellaneous Support 1 09-28-2010 09:49 AM
Cumulative Tape (Prints) tradercrm SuperDOM and other Order Entry Windows 8 05-12-2010 06:15 AM
Printer Friendly Chart prints? Turtle Trader Charting 3 05-01-2010 10:30 AM
Different prints for same value? Burga1 General Programming 1 12-05-2007 11:45 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:20 AM.

FULL RISK DISCLOSURE: Futures trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.