Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > Suggestions and Feedback > Suggestions And Feedback

Suggestions And Feedback New feature suggestions and feedback.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2007, 07:02 PM   #1
ohowie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 190
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default Strategy Catch Up

ok trading strategy is written and runs on charts etc. when first invoked it is usually in the middle of a trade. how can i catch up? should i use the system.io to check for a file named instrument.fullname and trigger the trade by the strategy that way? it works.
thanks for any help
ohowie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2007, 07:05 PM   #2
NinjaTrader_Ray
Administrator
 
NinjaTrader_Ray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 11,352
Thanks: 10
Thanked 173 times in 101 posts
Default

The following "Tip" might be of value.

http://www.ninjatrader-support.com/v...ead.php?t=4033
NinjaTrader_Ray is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2007, 07:19 PM   #3
ohowie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 190
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

if the strategy opens long 1 and then uses the exitlong function and not a sell order would the account and strategy both be flat at that point? or would the account be short 1? Thanks Ray
ohowie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2007, 07:28 PM   #4
NinjaTrader_Josh
NinjaTrader Product Manager
 
NinjaTrader_Josh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 17,460
Thanks: 1
Thanked 171 times in 82 posts
Default

We cannot say for certain if your account position will be flat, but your strategy position will.

If you had a long position in your account before you started your strategy your account will still be long after your strategy has done ExitLong() because of the prior long position.
NinjaTrader_Josh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2007, 07:35 PM   #5
ohowie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 190
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

assuming the account is flat. the strategy opens long 1 then exits long. account still flat right? then next trade triggered by the strategy i.e. long 1 will be in sync with account. yes?
ohowie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2007, 07:46 PM   #6
NinjaTrader_Josh
NinjaTrader Product Manager
 
NinjaTrader_Josh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 17,460
Thanks: 1
Thanked 171 times in 82 posts
Default

Correct. Assuming you start a strategy when it is in sync with your account position they will remain synced.
NinjaTrader_Josh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Once NT6 data becomes delayed it doesn't catch up to be real-time dfogg Connecting 11 08-17-2007 07:41 AM
Catch the end of a minute bar on a tick by tick OnBarUpdate event Fabrice Automated Trading 5 07-06-2007 12:28 PM
Catch the end of a minute bar on a tick by tick OnBarUpdate event Fabrice Automated Trading 1 07-06-2007 06:53 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:54 AM.

FULL RISK DISCLOSURE: Futures trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.