Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > Application Technical Support > SuperDOM and other Order Entry Windows

SuperDOM and other Order Entry Windows Support for all NinjaTrader order entry windows including the SuperDOM.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2012, 07:50 PM   #1
steve2222
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 102
Thanks: 41
Thanked 12 times in 11 posts
Default Explain/define Limit, Stop and Stop Limit Orders

I have tried looking for this in the Help guide and searching in the forum.

Is there a simple guide/explanation of the above types of orders and when one should be used versus another including the pros and cons of each?

Thanks
steve2222 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 08:07 PM   #2
sledge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 1,860
Thanks: 372
Thanked 509 times in 435 posts
Default

http://www.investopedia.com/terms/s/stoporder.asp


Quote:
Originally Posted by steve2222 View Post
I have tried looking for this in the Help guide and searching in the forum.

Is there a simple guide/explanation of the above types of orders and when one should be used versus another including the pros and cons of each?

Thanks
sledge is offline  
Reply With Quote
The following user says thank you to sledge for this post:
Old 01-11-2012, 02:41 AM   #3
steve2222
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 102
Thanks: 41
Thanked 12 times in 11 posts
Default Chart Trader - so no Sell STP or Buy STP

Thanks,

So that confirmed what I believed were the differences.

So I only use Chart Trader to place and mange orders/trades. I do not use an ATM. I use AutoHotKeys placing orders based on pointer/curser position.

AutoHotKeys emulates right clicking on the mouse and selecting one of the three order options.

My question is: with Chart Trader and the right mouse click, why is there no option to place a Sell STP order above the market or a Buy STP order below the market.

Say I want to go long, I use AutoHotKey to place a Buy Stop Limit so I only get into the trade if it trades at my price I placed the order at. But for my profit target I want to get out if price hits my target, even if I am not filled at this price, hence I need to place a Sell STP order so I get out at market. Currently I can only place a Sell LMT order which means if price touches my target does not fill me and falls back I don't get taken out.

Why does Chart Trader not allow you to place Sell STP above market and Buy STP below market?
steve2222 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 03:20 AM   #4
NinjaTrader_Jason
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Breda, Netherlands
Posts: 12,898
Thanks: 148
Thanked 592 times in 575 posts
Default

Hello steve2222,

Unfortunately, you cannot submit a sell stop market order above the market price or a buy stop market order below the market price. If you try this in the SuperDOM, you will receive a rejection error.

You can submit a limit order instead.
NinjaTrader_Jason is offline  
Reply With Quote
The following user says thank you to NinjaTrader_Jason for this post:
Old 01-11-2012, 04:13 PM   #5
steve2222
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 102
Thanks: 41
Thanked 12 times in 11 posts
Default

Thanks Jason.

Just for my understanding and learning, can you explain why this is so? Is it an exchange limitation eg the CME?

If instead I was using an ATM to place orders would this mean the profit target (in the case of a long) would also be a Limit order and not a Sell Stop order?
steve2222 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 05:33 PM   #6
NinjaTrader_Kyle
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Kyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 9,204
Thanks: 298
Thanked 492 times in 476 posts
Default

Hello steve2222,

I can offer no more clarification than to say that it's the agreed upon convention for this order type and is not specific to the exchange.

You are correct that a limit order would be used in the situation you outlined.
NinjaTrader_Kyle is offline  
Reply With Quote
The following user says thank you to NinjaTrader_Kyle for this post:
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
buy stop limit, sell stop limit chart trading issue... tulanch Miscellaneous Support 2 04-07-2010 01:11 PM
GTCs must be submitted as limit or stop limit orders cassb Strategy Development 4 03-01-2010 10:10 AM
Stop / limit / stop-limit orders from Chart JoeStein Charting 4 03-26-2009 09:47 AM
but stop or buy stop limit orders can't be placed below the market kiwibird Automated Trading 1 12-31-2008 06:58 AM
Negative Limit - Stop Limit Entry Orders biswar Automated Trading 1 10-18-2005 12:58 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:41 AM.

FULL RISK DISCLOSURE: Futures trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.