PDA

View Full Version : Mysterious connections to 216.251.43.17


anachronist
10-21-2011, 09:24 PM
I've been curious about something for a while. I have a program called PeerBlock running in the background, to help protect my computer from malware.

Every time I run NinjaTrader, PeerBlock reports that it blocked a connection attempt to the IP address 216.251.43.17. This happens exactly once per minute.

When I dig that IP address on http://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/web-sites-on-web-server/ it appears to be a shared hosting server, with plenty of dubious domains (porn sites and online pharmacies, among some more legitimate ones).

Why would NinjaTrader be accessing this address on a shared hosting service?

If it matters, I am using Mirus Futures with Zen-Fire, but it doesn't matter if I'm connected to my broker or not. I still see a ping once per minute.

Blocking this IP address doesn't seem to affect NinjaTrader in any way. Although maybe it's a reason for the frequent "connection lost" I hear from NinjaTrader voice (although this is erratic, not once per minute).

Just curious.
-A

NinjaTrader_Matthew
10-23-2011, 10:52 PM
Hello,

Sorry for the late reply. I'm not sure 100% what this connection is to. I will have someone follow up with you tomorrow morning.

NinjaTrader_Lowell
10-24-2011, 07:12 AM
Hello,

The connection you are seeing is a RSS News feed from Economic News hostingc1.megawebservers.com - 216.251.43.17

This connection and other RSS news feeds can be disabled from within the Control Center > Tools > Options > RSS Tab.
Deselect all the RSS feed you no longer want to receive and then press "OK"
You must restart NinjaTrader for the changes to take effect.

anachronist
10-24-2011, 07:36 AM
Ah. Thanks. RSS news feeds is a feature I'd forgotten about. I never knew why I would need a news feed in my trading platform. I'll disable it.
-A